2017 AAFSW Annual Volunteer Recognition Luncheon

On Thursday, May 25, 2017 the AAFSW Board held its traditional Volunteer Recognition Luncheon to thank all our AAFSW volunteers for all their work throughout the previous year. For the 10th year in a row, Elaine Neumann had kindly offered her beautiful Arlington home for the occasion. The AAFSW Board members provided a sumptuous feast for the guests; each one of the AAFSW Board members prepared a delicious dish. This year’s special treat, a whole leg of lamb, was prepared by our AAFSW Assistant Treasurer and AAFSW BookRoom Volunteer Troella Tyznik. The weather was idyllic, allowing guests to enjoy Elaine’s beautifully landscaped yard and back porch.

At this year’s luncheon, four outstanding volunteers were awarded certificates of appreciation for their volunteer work with AAFSW.

Dr. Joanna Athanasapoulos Owen, AAFSW President and Fun for Funds Fundraising Committee Chair, presented Troella Tyznik with the 2017 Fun for Funds Fundraising Committee Volunteer of the Year Award, due to her dedication, hard work and enthusiasm helping with AAFSW’s fundraising events.

Sheila Switzer, FBS Chair and State Liaison, presented Sri Solat with the AAFSW Foreign Born Spouses Group 2017 Volunteer of the Year Award, in recognition of her unique dedication and outstanding work as an exceptional AAFSW FBS Volunteer for many years.

Art & BookFair Chair Anne Kauzlarich presented Sarah McKee with the AAFSW BookRoom 2017 Volunteer of the Year, citing Sarah’s much-appreciated quiet efficiency and cheerful demeanor .

Finally, Anne Kauzlarich presented Lucy Whitley with the AAFSW Art & BookFair 2017 Volunteer of the Year Award, to recognize Lucy’s many years of dedicated service as Art & BookFair treasurer and volunteer.

The AAFSW Board is very grateful to all our volunteers, and especially to the four awardees mentioned above.

Barbara Reioux

AAFSW Office Manager