Home » Latest News » AAFSW Annual Awards Ceremony

AAFSW Annual Awards Ceremony

AAFSW Annual Awards Ceremony
 Thursday, November 15 at 11:00 a.m.
Benjamin Franklin Reception Room
Department of State
RSVP by Nov. 8

The annual AAFSW Awards Ceremony will take place on Thursday, November 15  at 11:00 am in the State Department’s Benjamin Franklin Reception Room, on the 8th floor of the Department of State, 2201 C Street, Washington, D.C. 

The ceremony will honor 4 recipients of the Secretary of State’s Award for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad (SOSA), a recipient of the Tragen Award, a recipient of the “Champions of Career Enhancement for EFMs” Award, and a recipient of the Dorman Award.  

The ceremony itself will begin promptly at 11:00 a.m. and refreshments will not be served until completion of the program at approximately 12:00 p.m. At this time members and guests can mingle and enjoy the opportunity to personally chat with the 2018 award winners.

AAFSW members may attend this important event free of charge. Non-member guests (excluding family members and friends of the  award winners) will be charged $20. To RSVP, email office@aafsw.org or call 703-820-5420, providing your full name, date of birth and driver’s license or passport number (required by State Department Security). Non-AAFSW members may send a check to AAFSW, 4001 9th Street N. #214, Arlington, VA 22203. Payments may also be made online via PayPal on the AAFSW website: https://www.aafsw.org/. Scroll down to find the donate button on the ride sidebar. You do not have to have a PayPal account, but may pay with a credit card as a guest.

All participants, except those who have a Department of State badge, must submit their name, date of birth and driver’s license or passport number.

All attendees should arrive by 10:40 a.m. and bring a current passport or driver’s license to gain entry to the State Department. Please go to the C Street Entrance (Between 21st and 23rd Streets) and pass through security. Representatives from AAFSW will be in the C Street lobby to check guests in.

The SOSA Award recognizes outstanding volunteer service performed overseas by employees, family members, domestic partners and members of household in the following areas: remarkable service to the American community; outstanding activities directed toward the host country; exceptional service in emergencies. 

The 2018 winners of the SOSA Award are as follows:
Abigail Hankin-Wei, Maputo (AF)
Nicola Hil, Guangzhou (EAP)
Matt A. Ellsworth, Nicosia (EUR)
Jessica McInerney, Ciudad Juarez (WHA) 

The Eleanor Dodson Tragen Award honors the memory of AAFSW member Eleanor Dodson Tragen and recognizes a member of the Foreign Service community who has effectively advocated for global rights and benefits. The recipient is chosen for his/her efforts to enhance the global rights and benefits provided to the Foreign Service family.

The winner of the 2018 Tragen Award is Patricia Linderman.

The Champions of Career Enhancement for EFMS (CCE-EFM) Award was created by AAFSW to honor someone who has been proactive in advancing Eligible Family Member employment, in order to call attention to the importance of innovative thinking in the search for EFM work solutions, and to share best practices. 

The winner of the 2018 CCE-EFM Award is Laura Sheehan.

Named after the late Lesley Dorman, the Dorman Award recognizes an AAFSW member who has performed outstanding service in all aspects of the organization.

The winner of the 2018 Dorman Award is Catherine Pierce.