Home » Latest News » 2022 Award Nominations Now Open

2022 Award Nominations Now Open

●       Nominations are now being accepted for the 2022 Secretary of State Award for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad (SOSA), the Champions of Career Enhancement for Eligible Family Members (CCE-EFM) Award, and the Eleanor Dodson Tragen Award. 

●       Nominations for the SOSA and CCE-EFM awards should be sent as Word documents to office@aafsw.org. AAFSW presents annually the Secretary of State Award for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad (SOSA) to recognize the most exceptional volunteer efforts by Foreign Service employees and family members abroad. The Champions of Career Enhancement for Eligible Family Members Award (CCE-EFM) was developed by AAFSW’s EFM Employment Committee to recognize and incentivize those who go above and beyond their job descriptions and routine daily activities to promote the cause of employment and career development for Foreign Service family members. Directions on how to submit nominations for SOSA.

●       Eleanor Dodson Tragen Award nominations should be sent to John Bradshaw at DACOR at jbradshaw@dacorbacon.org. The Eleanor Dodson Tragen Award honors a spouse, family member, domestic partner or member of household, who has effectively advocated and promoted rights, programs, services and benefits for Foreign Service families in the tradition of the AAFSW and its members, as did the late Mrs. Eleanor Tragen.

●       The nomination deadline for all three awards is April 29, 2022.

Posts or individuals may submit as many nominations as they wish provided the nominees meet the criteria. Rather than submitting several nominations for the same individual from one post, AAFSW recommends a group nomination for that person. The selection committee for the SOSA Awards includes representatives from AAFSW, the Bureau of Global Talent Management’s Global Community Liaison Office (GTM/GCLO), and the Executive Directors of the regional bureaus. Members of the AAFSW EFM Employment Committee select the winner of the CCE-EFM Award. The selection committee for the Tragen Award includes representatives from DACOR, AAFSW, AFSA, and GTM/GCLO.  All nominees will be notified as soon as the selections are made.

For additional information on the SOSA and CCM-EFM Awards, contact us at office@aafsw.org, or by phone at 703-820-5420. For additional information on the Tragen Award, please contact DACOR Executive Director John Bradshaw at jbradshaw@dacorbacon.org, or by phone at 202-682-0500, extension 14.

Learn more about SOSA.

Learn more about CCE-EFM.