Home » Latest News » 2022 AAFSW Dorman Award Recipient — Joanna Athanasopoulos Owen, PhD

2022 AAFSW Dorman Award Recipient — Joanna Athanasopoulos Owen, PhD

Congratulations to Dr. Joanna Athanasopoulos Owen for receiving the 2022 AAFSW Dorman Award. An active AAFSW Art and Book Fair Volunteer since 2014, Dr. Joanna Athanasopoulos Owen served as the elected AAFSW President from 2016 to 2020. As a trained geophysicist, gemologist, and environmental management consultant who seeks collaboration with local universities at post, Joanna appreciates the importance of eligible family member (EFM) employment and, in 2017-2018, she successfully advocated for a sound solution to safeguard EFM and EPAP work opportunities. In 2018, Joanna conceived and implemented AAFSW’s “Twice Exceptional” Merit Scholarship, designed to reward academic excellence annually to two Foreign Affairs’ students who, despite special needs, have overcome adversity. Most importantly, in 2018, Joanna spearheaded AAFSW’s successful application to be recognized as a DOS Employee Organization. Also, for the first time after the AFSA Memorial Service during the 2018 Foreign Affairs Day in DOS, Joanna successfully solicited the presence of the Secretary of State for a brief stop by the AAFSW Wreath and EFM Plaque, paying respect to the Foreign Service Family Members fallen abroad while at post. Joanna worked tirelessly for AAFSW’s membership inclusivity and AAFSW’s Leadership diversity and during her four-year term as President, AAFSW increased the number of AAFSW’s Standing Voting Committee Chairs by 35%. Dr. Joanna Athanasopoulos Owen continues to serve AAFSW as the AAFSW Fundraising Chair since 2016 and the AAFSW Public Relations and Publicity Chair since 2020. Congratulations for a well-deserved honor!