2015 AAFSW Award Ceremony

2015 SOSA awards – This year celebrates the 25th anniversary of the SOSA awards.  Nominations from posts in all of the six geographic regions were submitted and reviewed.  AAFSW thanks those posts and individuals who took the time to nominate these volunteers. All the nominees’ remarkable activities have had a profound impact on Mission and host-country communities overseas.

AAFSW is pleased to announce the 2015 winners of the SOSA Award:

AF Juliette Marsham-McClure, Yaounde

EAP Shannon Argetsinger, Hong Kong

EUR Ernesto Luna, Bratislava

NEA Karen Forsyth, Beirut

SCA Sunny Stimmler, Ashgabat

WHA Carolynn Poulsen, Santiago

Project summaries and photos will be posted on aafsw.org this month so be sure to visit the website and check them out!

The annual AAFSW Awards Program will take place on Tuesday, November 10, 2015. In addition to the SOSA awards, other awards presented include the Champions for Career Enhancement for Eligible Family Members (CCE-EFM) Award, the Tragen Award (administered by DACOR), and the Lesley Dorman Award (administered by AAFSW).

The awards ceremony will begin promptly at 10:00 a.m. and refreshments will not be served until completion of the program at 11:30.  From 11:30 a.m. to 12:00 noon members and guests can mingle and enjoy the opportunity to personally chat with the 2015 award winners. The program is free to all AAFSW members, DOS employees, and guests of winners; outside guests will be asked to pay $17.

Please RSVP for the ceremony by Tuesday, November 3 by emailing office@aafsw.org or calling us at 703-820-5420. We hope you can join us to honor these incredible members of the Foreign Service community!

Lara L. Center
SOSA Coordinator